Accepting kindness

Leaving work, I began to sweep the snow off my car using my arm instead of fishing the scraper from the depths of the car. Yes, it was the lazy route, but admittedly, a method I favor on a frequent basis. All of a sudden I looked up to see a young woman offering to liberate my windshield with her scraper in hand. For a moment, I considered explaining my laziness and refusing her help, but then I realized that would be missing the point. She was offering kindness and it was my job to accept it.

The scraping only took a minute or two. I offered my gratitude and complimented her jacket. We both left happier from the experience.

Sometimes accepting kindness is the best way to show it in return.

Leave a Reply

