Specific expectations

My seven year old daughter Freya wanted to hang some of her art in my upcoming art show. Although I love the idea of fostering art making among my children, the amount of post painting clean up that is required, honestly lessens my excitement. I shared with Freya my hesitancy and she asked to have a special time to paint without her younger siblings. We scheduled a time and discussed what it meant to use the studio space responsibly. What followed was one of the best times I have ever shared with her. It was truly an incredible reminder of the power of setting specific expectations.

How do you set specific expectations in order to get your needs met?

Leave a Reply

