Ingredients matter

I can’t resist tasting the batter when I bake. I know I run the risk of salmonella poisoning but there is something so exciting about get a preview of coming attractions that gets me every time. Countless spatula licks later, I have learned to determine a crowd pleaser from a flop even before it goes in the oven. Whether it is just the right amount of vanilla or freshly picked blueberries, ingredients matter; no amount of baking will turn a lame batter into something worth eating. Tonight, as the freshly baked peach muffins wafted through the air, I thought about the ways in which we choose our “life” ingredients. From jobs to relationships, exercise and spiritual practice the presence and balance of these elements can make or break us.

What is on your ingredient list?

Leave a Reply

