Clean house?

Historically, when friends came to the house I would clean it first. Today, last minute change of plans meant that new friends were coming over instead of meeting us for a hike. As I was playing translator between my two oldest kids and our Uruguayan neighbors and appeasing two teething babies, it occurred to me that the disaster zone I call home had no chance of improving its façade. I immediately knew these friends were “keepers” when they made themselves as home, complemented my muffins and helped pour tea while I wrangled clean diapers on squirmy twins…all within three minutes of their arrival. This experience made me so grateful for the people in my life that forego judgment and appreciate who we are as a family, sticky floors and all.

How can we all live our lives with an abundance of appreciation and a scarcity of judgment regardless of the “mess”?

Leave a Reply

