I love you for the very first time

Today I was hanging out with that cool six year old I know who is just learning to use head switches and an iPad app with voice output to communicate. I watched with amazement as he adeptly navigated from page to page, checking out the topics and general vocabulary available for him to use. When he got to the “feelings” page, I suggested he say something to his mom who was sitting in the adjoining room. With no assistance from me, he selected a phrase in the middle of the page and prompted the iPad to speak “I love you,” he said, for the very first time. Tears weld up in our eyes, “I love you, I love you, I love you,” he repeated, as his mom came over, hugged him and said that was the very best thing she had heard all year.

2 thoughts on “I love you for the very first time

  1. I think I met that cool six year old and his awesome mama when he was just a little bub at his first playgroup, way down under in Sydney Australia. So great to hear about this!!

Leave a Reply

