Education is what you make of it at Lehman Alternative Community School

I decided to go to my reunion at the last minute. Lehman Alternative Community School was the place that I spent quite a few of my formative years. Some say that hippie dippy school wasn’t academic enough. Looking back, I realize the school was beyond academic, it was life altering. While I have long forgotten the names of the great minds I studied in college, writing and performing a play with a student with Down syndrome led me to my vocation in special education; biking to New Jersey started my commute by bike habit; hiking in the Costa Rican rainforest kindled my love of Spanish and its daily use in our household; leading all school meetings gave me the confidence to enjoy any speaking engagement that comes my way. It seems to me that education is what you make of it. I am thankful I spent a chunk of mine at Lehman Alternative Community School.

Leave a Reply

