Measuring up

We have dreams of converting our 70’s era basement to more functional living space. In order for that to happen we need to have a plan, which means I had to measure the current space. On the surface, this seems like no big deal; however the idea of doing something with numbers and precision gave me a visceral reaction. All the old voices that said I was incapable of anything math related (even this basic,) came trickling back. I caught myself ready to drop the tape measure and run. Thankfully I recognized that I was having the same reaction as many of my students when asked to do something in which they lack confidence. I realized I could commit to measuring one section at a time until I finally finished. Today, I was my own teacher. I proved I could measure up…and across.

When was the last time you taught yourself to ignore the negative voices of your past?

Leave a Reply

