Counterintuitive

The main street leading to our house is temporarily one-way while under construction. In order to get into town, one must travel several miles out of town and double back. My bike ride to work consumes half the time that it takes to drive because I can forgo the detour. Why does this matter? The experience reminds me that sometimes life is counterintuitive. While I pride myself in being pretty in touch with my intuition, knowing when to do the opposite seems to be a tougher skill to develop.

When does it serve you to be counterintuitive?

Leave a Reply

