Lightening the load

Little by little my backpack has been taking on weight. I have added important documents, extra snacks for field trips, first aid supplies, extra pencils, rulers and compasses for testing. All of these odds and ends have amounted in a very heavy backpack that I continue to strap on my back for my bike ride to and from school each day. This afternoon, I finally took a few minutes to downsize my load. Now the only equipment I carry includes the essentials like my laptop and lunch.

My life is filled with little bits of “extra” that add up to a lot of baggage over time. This can take the form of to do lists, conversations yet to be had, paperwork and laundry. When I take time to lighten the load, it makes movement through life more graceful.

What do you do to lighten your load?

Leave a Reply

