Calloused

This morning we hit the streets of Philadelphia scoping out playgrounds, parks and interesting people to watch. I wore my sensible sandals after a long winter…and I have blisters to prove it. People spend a lot of money getting their feet to be smooth and supple. Today I wished for the callouses that late summer brings. I longed for the tough, protective skin that comes with time. Had I those callouses, I could have explored the city indefinitely. Had I callouses at work, even the hardest day wouldn’t slow me down.

When have you longed to be “calloused”?

Leave a Reply

