Everyone has a story

Today I was in Lowes with the twins. An employee came rushing over to help me load a bag of mulch and wished me a happy Mother’s Day. I thanked her and she said her baby has four legs and a tail. I asked if it was the feline or canine variety and she told me the story of how she adopted her dog at two days old after the mom died while giving birth. This woman set an alarm to wake up every two hours to bottle feed her puppy. I was incredibly impressed by her love and commitment. However, even more than her adoption tale, I was struck by what she said next…”thank you for listening to my story.” It occurred to me that everyone has a story, many stories and often times those stories go unheard. Whether a student, neighbor or spouse, everyone needs to feel heard.
Whose story will you listen to next?

Leave a Reply

