Not a natural

Today I went to a workshop on how to use an interactive white board and the accompanying software. I was hoping with enough time and practice, it would become second nature and feel as intuitive as the iPad. Unfortunately my hopes were shattered and I walked away feeling rather defeated. Although it was a drag not to exit triumphantly, it was a great reminder of what it feels like when something does not come naturally. Everyday, our students and children with exceptional needs come to school and attempt incredibly challenging tasks. Often they don’t “get it” on the first, second or even third try. It was humbling to do something that I did not immediately “get”. The experience made me that much more in awe of the children with whom I work. It is because of them that I will continue to try and master the white board even though I am not a natural.

Leave a Reply

