Savoring dessert

I try to just limit myself to one dessert a day but I think about it and look forward to it on and off until that glorious moment. The irony is that once dinner is over and the table is cleared, I often rush through my bowl of ice cream, brownie or cupcake. I realize with all this build up, I should learn to savor my highly anticipated dessert like my kids do. They sit at the counter taking tiny bites while undoubtedly covering their faces with chocolate. Their dessert can last as long as dinner itself and the joy that comes from it is palpable.

How do we learn to savor the moments we look forward to the most?

2 thoughts on “Savoring dessert

  1. I decided to give up dessert on weekdays for Lent and I can’t wait for one dessert a day to return to my menu.

Leave a Reply

