Between packrat and prepared

My wife loves to de-clutter. Tonight, it was the spice cabinet. While I deeply envy her efficiency, I was humored to open the garbage and find some herbs and spices I use that she has never touched. While I appreciate her desire to make our cabinets as streamlined as possible, I also want to make sure that I have all the ingredients I need next time I make curry or those carrots with bay leaves that I love. Peering into the garbage made me think of strategies and teaching resources that we often dismiss. It is a fine line between hoarding materials and making sure we have what we need to be ready to serve the people in our care. If we are too streamlined in the way we approach teaching, who are we leaving out?

How do we walk the line between packrat and prepared?

Leave a Reply

