Conscious effort

I had to go to a meeting that I did not want to attend. I could think of a thousand things that felt more urgent. Instead, I was sitting with my arms and legs crossed and such a frown on my face that three people asked if I was ok. I knew I needed to consciously shift my attitude because this meeting wasn’t going to go any faster by resenting it. Slowly, I felt my body and mind open up and settle into the moment. By the end, I was able to contribute in a meaningful way…and the meeting flew by.

How can we use conscious effort to shift the way we show up in the world? How does that effect time and relationships?

Leave a Reply

