The authentic self

In my studio, sometimes I try to paint for others. I try to anticipate what they will like . When I do this, I go through layers and layers of paint and it does not look like me and it doesn’t suit the person I am trying to paint for. When I am my authentic self, I trust that someone wanted a painting because they resonate with what I have to offer. I put paint to canvas and what comes forth is a reflection of what I have to give at that moment. The more I let go of self doubt, the more freely the painting completes itself…its authentic self.

How can we let go of self doubt to make room for our authentic selves?

Leave a Reply

