Coping with disappointment

I am a social butterfly. I love meeting new people and getting to know acquaintances. I love  birthdays, playing board games and eating soup just as much. When my family spiked high fevers and complained of sore throats, I knew the responsible family member thing was to postpone my, oh so anticipated soup and games birthday party, and dive into caretaker mode. While I love my family, I was truly looking forward to a few hours with friends, fulfilling my simple pleasures. It took me a while to get over my disappointment and be truly present on the home front.

What tools do we use to get over disappointment in our lives? How can we be compassionate to our students and colleagues when disappointment strikes at work?

Leave a Reply

