The tables were turned

Today I rode a roller coaster for the first time in my life. I went to the amusement park with absolutely no intention to be strapped into a free falling metal box, however I was paired with a student with autism that set his sights on the roller coaster which meant it was time to take the plunge…literally. Usually I am the one pushing his limits, asking him to work when he’d rather play a video game or asking him to walk when he’d rather run. Today the tables were turned. He asked me to go on the roller coaster when I would have rather stayed on solid ground. To be perfectly honest, I enjoyed being pushed out of my comfort zone. Most importantly, it gave my student and me the opportunity to switch places.

Leave a Reply

